Luke Shaw Wins Players’ Player of the Year Award

Embed from Getty Images

There have been few bright spots for Manchester United this season, but one of the was Luke Shaw. The England international has re-captured his best form, and was one of the best left-backs in the Premier League during the 2018/19 season. And his own teammates have acknowledged his impressive year.

The former Southampton star, who joined United back in 2014, earned his first award of the season — and deservedly so. The defender earned 40 starts during the current term, and Paul Pogba was the only outfield player who earned more starts for The Red Devils this season.

Shaw began the year with a bang, scoring in the opening fixture against Leicester City. He has never looked back ever since, and has enjoyed a great year and this Award clearly reflects it. He beat Swedish centre-back Victor Lindelof by just one vote to capture this award for the first time in his career.

One of the players who talked about Shaw’s performances was Romelu Lukaku. As expected, the Belgian praised his teammate saying “he has been brilliant since the start. He scored in the first game of the season against Leicester City and he has never looked back.”

Which other players have won the Players’ Player of the Year Award?

Previous winners of this Award include David De Gea (three times), Antonio Valencia and Chris Smalling in the past few years. The last time a non-defending player won the Award was Michael Carrick back in 2012/13.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.