Manchester United 2016/17 squad numbers announced

This morning, Manchester United announced the provisional 2016/17 squad numbers for next season. New signing Zlatan Ibrahimovic has been given the number 9, which was most recently worn by Anthony Martial – who now takes number 11, once worn by Ryan Giggs. Eric Bailly, United’s new centre half from Villarreal, has been given Denis Irwin’s former number and Henrikh Mkhitaryan has been given number 22.

Manchester United released the following tweet this morning:

1. David De Gea
3 Eric Bailly
4 Phil Jones
5 Marcos Rojo
7 Memphis Depay
8 Juan Mata
9 Zlatan Ibrahimovic
10 Wayne Rooney
11 Antony Martial
12 Chris Smalling
14 Jesse Lingard
15 Adnan Januzaj
16 Michael Carrick
17 Daley Blind
18 Ashley Young
19 Marcus Rashford
20 Romero
21 Ander Herrera
22 Henrikh Mkhitaryan
23 Luke Shaw
24 Timothy Fosu-Mensah
25 Antonio Valencia
27 Marouane Fellaini
28 Morgan Schneiderlin
31 Bastian Schweinsteiger
32 Sam Johnstone
33 Paddy McNair
36 Matteo Darmian
38 Axel Tuanzebe
43 Cameron Borthwick-Jackson
44 Andreas Pereira
48 Will Keane

6 Comments on Manchester United 2016/17 squad numbers announced

  1. The squad numbers ok as far as I am concerned. Not taking the number 8 Jersey from Juan Mata means the guy has a fighting chance to stake his claim as the team’s number 10. Even the coach knows how capable Mata and has no axe togrind with him.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.